Tags

, , ,

I’m not sure what got into me this weekend, but I ended up reupholstering an old stool and an old storage ottoman.

images-1

Both were about to get the old heave-ho, but now I feel like I’ve given them a new lease on life.  Thank you, Pinterest.  No, seriously, pinterest is unbelievable.  It’s like the google of do-it-yourself projects.  You can search for anything and all of these amazing projects and blogs magically appear with step-by-step instructions for newbies like me to the craft scene.  haha!

For the stool, I followed this site:  Thank you Craftaholics!  And for the storage ottoman, I followed this site:  Thank you, Guyer Family!

IMG_4597 IMG_4591

All in all, the projects were super easy.  Less than 2 hours each.  Honestly, I spent more time wondering around aimlessly at Jo-Ann’s looking at a bazillion different fabrics than it took to complete the actual work.

I did learn a few things and would probably make the following changes if I were to do it again:

  • JoAnn’s.  This place is a zoo full of crafty people. It’s a little bit overwhelming.  Next time, I would grab a number for the fabric-cutting right when I walk in the door.  I waited until I sorted through all of the fabric and had my selections to go up to the counter.  You have to pick a number like at the grocery store deli counter.  My number was 105 and I realized they were only on 92, so I had to wait….
  • I bought a chintzy little craft stapler and it was ok, but it kept getting jammed and I ended up having to hammer a lot of the staples in because they didn’t penetrate the wood all of the way.  If I were to do it again, I would just get an actual staple gun and call it a day.
  • The hardware.  The hardest part about the ottoman was putting the darn hardware back on after I finished the upholstery.  Note to self, remember where the holes were and what side goes where, etc…

Oh, and while I was busy playing around with fabric and staples, Ben has been out in the garage building our new bed.  When it is finished, it should look something like this   Pottery Barn bed (except ours will be white).  We are loving our new house and honestly it is so much more rewarding to do-it-yourself (albeit with more imperfections!).  Plus, what the heck else are we going to do with a 2-year old and 3-year old in the house???  It’s nearly impossible to take them both shopping.

haha! couldn't resist this one! :)

haha! couldn’t resist this one! 🙂


Post-weekend update:

Lest anyone out there reading this gets the false impression that we have it together, let me just add that we topped off the weekend with an emergency trip to Urgent Care to stitch up Ben’s hand.  Bummer too because he was so close to finishing the bed!   

 

